Birthday rewards look like a gift to the member. To the program, they are a cost with a known date. Each member who shares a birthday triggers one offer a year, so the budget can be set a year ahead. The hard part is proving the gift brings visits that would have been lost without it.
What are birthday rewards?
A birthday reward is an offer a loyalty program gives a member near their birthday. Five US programs show the main formats in their own terms.
- A free item. Starbucks Rewards gives a free drink or food item on the member’s birthday (Starbucks).
- A gift plus bonus points. Ulta Beauty Rewards offers a birthday gift and 2X points on purchases in the birthday month (Ulta).
- A points multiplier. Dunkin’ Rewards gives 3X points on purchases in a three-day window around the birthday (Dunkin’).
- A discount. Real Rewards by American Eagle gives $5.00 off one purchase in the birthday month (American Eagle).
- A gift that grows with tier. Chick-fil-A One gives a cookie or brownie at the base tier. Signature members get their choice of entrée (Chick-fil-A).
The format sets the cost. A free item costs the same whether or not the member buys anything else. A multiplier or a discount costs nothing unless the member spends.
Why do loyalty programs run birthday rewards?
The terms show what each program buys with the gift. Starbucks makes the birth date optional and states: “If you do not provide birthday information you will not receive your Birthday Reward” (Starbucks). The gift is what the member gets for filling in an optional field.
Ulta buys a marketing permission. Members must opt in to marketing before their birthday month to get the gift (Ulta). American Eagle made the opposite call. Its terms say members who opt out of marketing still get the $5 birthday coupon (American Eagle).
Starbucks also uses the gift as a yearly check on activity. A member must make at least one Star-earning transaction before the birthday each year to qualify (Starbucks). It ties the window to tier as well. Green members can redeem only on the birthday. Gold members get seven days, and Reserve members get 30.
Each choice moves a different number. A program short on contact data asks for the opt-in. A program short on active members asks for the yearly purchase.
What are the usual rules for birthday rewards?
Three of the five programs state a lead time, and all five set a fixed window.
| Program | Birthday reward | Date on file by | Window to redeem | Other conditions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starbucks Rewards | Free drink or food item | Join at least 7 days before the birthday | The birthday only at Green. 7 days at Gold. 30 days at Reserve. | One Star-earning transaction before the birthday each year |
| Ulta Beauty Rewards | Birthday gift plus 2X points | On the profile before the birthday month | Birthday month, while supplies last | Opted in to marketing. Once per calendar year. |
| Dunkin’ Rewards | 3X points | Not stated on the rewards page | Three days around the birthday | Points come only with a purchase |
| Chick-fil-A One | Dessert at base tier, up to an entrée at Signature | At least 24 hours ahead, or it moves to next year | 30 days from the birthday | The item cannot be swapped |
| Real Rewards by American Eagle | $5.00 off one purchase | Not stated. The offer goes out near the first day of the birth month. | Birthday month | One-time use. Members must be 15 or older. |
Three more rules recur. Ulta offers the gift “once per calendar year” (Ulta). Starbucks needs the member barcode in the app or a registered card to redeem (Starbucks). And platforms lock the birth date on file.
That last rule exists because the birth date is a field a member can edit to get paid. Yotpo blocks self-service changes once a birthday is saved. Its fraud setting deters members from claiming before their true birthday (Yotpo). Rivo makes members wait 30 days by default after they add a birthday. It says the wait guards against abuse, and a longer wait guards against repeat date changes (Rivo). Without a lock or a yearly cap, a member who moves the date each month gets a gift each month.
What do birthday rewards cost, and how do you measure them?
The cost is easy to count. It is gifts redeemed times the cost of each. The return is harder to see, because many members who redeem were coming in anyway.
One study put this to the test. It looked at birthday rewards at a large retail company in Japan. The gifts “had no positive effect of increasing the customer lifetime value” (Nishio and Hoshino). Members who went quiet for a while after the visit had particularly low lifetime values.
The fix is a holdout. Pick a random share of eligible members and send them nothing. Compare visits and margin in the birthday window. Then compare again over the next 90 days, to catch visits the gift only moved forward. Our entry on control group testing explains the method.
For illustration, a coffee chain has 120,000 members with birthdays in one quarter. It holds out 10% at random. So 12,000 members get nothing and 108,000 get a free drink.
- Cost. 40% of the 108,000 redeem. That is 43,200 drinks at $1.50 each, or $64,800.
- Lift in the window. Members who got the gift make 0.70 visits in birthday week. The holdout makes 0.55. A gap of 0.15 visits across 108,000 members is 16,200 extra visits.
- Return in the window. Each extra visit brings $3.00 of margin on top of the free drink. That adds up to $48,600. The gap to cost is $16,200. Each extra visit cost $4.00.
- The next 90 days. Say members who got the gift then make 0.05 more visits each than the holdout. That adds 5,400 visits and $16,200, so the gift breaks even. If the gap is zero, it lost money.
Without the holdout, the chain would credit the gift with all 43,200 redemptions. The holdout tells you whether to keep the gift as it is or tie it to a purchase. Our guide to loyalty program ROI rolls the same test up to the whole program.
What data and privacy rules apply to birth dates?
A birthday reward needs a month and a day. Starbucks asks for just that: “Birthday (month, day) is optional to receive birthday offers” (Starbucks). LoyaltyLion lets a program skip the year. It says that cuts the personal data held, and the birthday rule keeps working (LoyaltyLion).
The year brings age into play. In the US, the FTC’s COPPA Rule covers general audience services with actual knowledge that they collect personal information from children under 13 (FTC). The FTC says the Rule does not require operators to ask age. An operator that screens for age in a neutral way can rely on the ages users enter.
The FTC’s example of a neutral screen lets users freely enter month and year of birth. A drop-down that only allows birth years of 13 or older is not neutral (FTC). Ulta sets its membership age at 13 and over (Ulta), and American Eagle at 15. Collect the year only if a rule uses it, and build the field to the FTC’s standard if you do.
How GRAVTY handles birthday rewards
A lead time is a rule. So is a yearly cap. In GRAVTY, business teams set that kind of logic without code. Loyalty Juggernaut says it covers “rewards, recognition and redemption for any segment, changed as the program changes” (GRAVTY technology). The rules engine, Visual Rules, is patented.
AI-Trust is GRAVTY’s fraud control. It flags unusual earn and redemption behavior as it happens, and each program can tune its scoring models. On retail programs, AgenticTest measures lift by segment while a campaign is still running (retail loyalty). So the team sees the birthday gift’s lift before the month is out.
Frequently asked questions
Do you have to join a loyalty program before your birthday to get the reward?
Yes, in every program here that states a cutoff. Starbucks requires joining at least seven days before the birthday (Starbucks). Chick-fil-A needs the date on the account at least 24 hours ahead, or the reward waits a year (Chick-fil-A). Ulta needs the date on the profile before the birthday month starts (Ulta).
Can a member change their birthday in a loyalty program?
Yes, but the platforms checked here limit it, because a new date can pull the reward forward. Yotpo blocks self-service changes once a birthday is saved, so only a site admin can edit it. It also grants no more than one birthday gift per calendar year (Yotpo). Rivo makes members wait 30 days by default after adding a birthday (Rivo).
Should a birthday reward require a purchase?
Require one when the holdout shows free gifts going mostly to members who would have come in anyway. Real programs split on it. Ulta needs no purchase in store but needs one online (Ulta). On Toast, a birthday discount cannot exceed the check total, and unused value does not carry over (Toast).
How long should a birthday reward stay valid?
Match the window to how often members visit. Starbucks gives Green members the birthday only and Reserve members 30 days (Starbucks). Chick-fil-A gives 30 days (Chick-fil-A). Dunkin’ runs its bonus for three. A weekly visitor can use a seven-day window. A monthly visitor needs close to a month.
Do birthday rewards increase customer lifetime value?
Not on their own, in a peer-reviewed study of a large retailer in Japan. Its birthday gifts “had no positive effect of increasing the customer lifetime value” (Nishio and Hoshino). Run a holdout on your own program before you scale the gift.
